Roasted Green Beans

I have been inundated with green beans. I have beans in my garden. Friends have beans in their gardens. There are beans in the community garden, which I HAD to pick, because you have to keep beans picked, otherwise they’ll quit producing.

The problem is, I’m not that crazy about green beans. I prefer my beans all grown up and mature. They’re okay, but on the whole I prefer broccoli, collards greens, and kale for my green veggies. That is, I did, before I learned about roasting green beans.

Snap the stems off your beans, put them in a bowl, drizzle a little olive oil on them, sprinkle them with garlic salt, and spread them out on a baking sheet. Bake them until they are as tender as you want them. Baking times will vary based on the thickness of your beans, but generally about 15-20 minutes at 350 should do it.

They aren’t exactly like french fries, but they definitely aren’t like your garden variety steamed or boiled beans either. The flavor deepens and sweetens until you just can’t get enough of them.

I’ve been eating them every other day for the past week. And they are so Easy. I tend to eat them with my fingers, so I don’t even bother to chop them into bite size pieces. They make a great snack.

I haven’t been able to convince my son that they are good, though he did eat them when I served them for dinner the other night, but if your kids aren’t already prejudiced against green beans, I bet they would love them like this.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Green Beans

  1. Also, if you freeze some of your beans, you can throw the frozen beans on a cookie sheet with a little olive oil, and roast them just as you do the fresh ones. I roast them at 425 degrees for about 10 minutes and then stir them and put them back in for about 10 more minutes. So many veggies are good roasted — potatoes, carrots, beets, parsnips … even cauliflower and broccoli.
    Thanks for a great post!

Leave a Reply

