Moving in

So I got the house. I moved in immediately, of course, as I was living in the van. Plus I had orders backing up all over the place. It was October, and I had met my goal to be in a house before the Christmas rush.

I had all my tools with me, but no proper bed and no furniture, besides a folding table and a small wooden table that I had in the van as my “kitchen counter.”  Oh, and no water. There were cracked and broken pipes all over the place, and–at the time, as a new home owner–I had no idea how to do my own plumbing.

Well, I got right to work. I set up my tools in the living room after I had ripped out the nasty, disgusting-smelling carpet. I was at least a week behind on my woodworking. The electricity in the place was not up to par, and when I used the miter saw, the lights dimmed.

One of my brothers graciously agreed to come and help me get the place livable. I would also ride back home with him, and bring a moving van out with my stuff. While I was gone packing up, my new neighbor, who happened to be a jack-of-all-trades handyman, would revamp the electrical system.

Before I left with my brother, I moved the workshop into the basement. It’s still there, but those couple of weeks it was in the living room were very convenient. The apples did have to be washed, because they were covered with sawdust, but I didn’t have a problem keeping an eye on my son.

3 thoughts on “Moving in

  1. What a wonderful neighbor! My husband and I are remodeling our house room by room. It’s amazing how each project becomes so much bigger than you thought it would be.

    • Isn’t that the truth? I’m just starting to remodel each room. When I first moved in, I just did enough to make it livable. Now every time I have a little bit of extra money, I do something.

Leave a Reply

