Van Living

I thought I’d do a post on van living, even though I sort of already did one. The thing is, while I’d never do it again permanently, I’ve been wishing I had a van again to use for vacations/extended trips south in the winter. When you find that you can live anywhere, the whole world opens up to you. Even if you don’t take the options that this realization opens up to you, it’s nice to know that they are there.

I made the jump to van living, because I was committed to raising my son…by myself, without the use of government sponsored daycare as an option. I read a quote one time saying that if you are rich enough you can do anything, and if you are poor enough you can do anything. Wealth gives you the ability to buy what you want. Poverty gives you the freedom to do what you want, because you have nothing to lose.

I wanted to reduce my expenses to the bare minimum. In part, I was inspired by one of my favorite books: Primal Parenting by Hygeia Halfmoon. Some may think the book extreme, but I loved the book, because it was extreme. I loved it. because she said what she believed, because she made no compromises. One of my favorite quotes from the book, which was actually quoting Richard Bach, reads, “The only thing that shatters dreams is compromise.”

Halfmoon herself had lived in her car for a while rather than compromise her belief that children belong with their parents. Then later on, she lived in a van traveling around Hawaii and then the states with a motor home with her three children.

Such a life and ideas are not for everyone, but they were for me. I have a strong libertarian principles that prevented me from accepting welfare, food stamps, even child support. I also have a strong love of freedom, and the idea that I could go anywhere and do anything was too much to resist.

Well, I didn’t really get into the day to day details of van living, but I must return to real life. There are breakfasts to make and dishes to wash and bathrooms to clean. There are wooden buses to be sanded and have wheels put on them.

Tomorrow I’ll post more on van living.

5 thoughts on “Van Living

  1. I love that rich enough, poor enough quote! I’m excited about tomorrows post. I’d love to try living in a small RV someday. It would be so freeing to get our possessions down to just what could fit inside and travel the country.

  2. It probably didn’t feel like it at the time, but what an adventure 🙂 I am sure your son will be a much better person for all your sacrifice and commitment.

  3. I love this – “if you are rich enough you can do anything, and if you are poor enough you can do anything. Wealth gives you the ability to buy what you want. Poverty gives you the freedom to do what you want, because you have nothing to lose”. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Your unfolding story telling is lovely. I can identify with some of the things you say, i like the quote about the rich and the poor. It is nice not to feel tied,

Leave a Reply

