A Dollhouse

At long last, I made a dollhouse to fit 5 inch dolls.

Image

People have been asking me if I make a doll house for regular dollhouse dolls for years, and I said, I’m working on it. But I never got around to it. I think I was waiting to buy a planer so I could make it out of half inch wood like I do with the Sun House. But now that I’ve made it out of 3/4″ wood, I prefer the thicker, sturdier wood for the large size. 

I also was turned off by the size of a large dollhouse. I thought a 2 foot tall, 3 foot wide dollhouse is very nice for a kindergarten room, but not for a house. It would take up half my living room! We don’t have a playroom. The living room is for playing, visiting, and working (assembling and finishing toys), and open floor space is crucial for playing and working. 

So I wanted to make a dollhouse to fit five inch dolls, but I also wanted it to be a reasonable size. Something that I could fit on the toy shelf.

Image

And I succeeded. The house is 21″ long and 16″ high and 8″ deep. The second floor is 5 1/2″ deep. The base is 23″ long and 9 1/2″ wide. The first floor will accommodate dolls up to 6 inches tall. The skylight lets the sun wake your little people each morning. 

Image

I will also be selling the simple dollhouse furniture pictured. The one thing I won’t be selling is dolls for the house. The ones pictured are from Plan Toys. I bought them because I could have them shipped overnight, and because they were cheap. They aren’t bad, but I’m not wholly satisfied with them. I prefer emotionally neutral faces for dolls, not eternally smiling ones. I also thought the hair and clothes were kind of cheap. 

Image

I really like the look of the Evi dolls and the Kathe Kruse dolls. If the dollhouse is a big hit, and more people are needed, I’ll be buying some of those dolls. When he heard that the dollhouse wasn’t destined for shipping, Caleb begged me for it. I acquiesced and had it wrapped and ready yesterday morning with the dolls and furniture. He was thrilled. He kept giggling and jumping up because he was so excited.

 

Someday I may make my own dolls. Maybe even in time for Christmas. We’ll see.  

Image

Here is where you can buy the doll house and the furniture.

 

7 thoughts on “A Dollhouse

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I so want to get one for my daughter but at 10 months I just don’t think she will enjoy it yet and I really don’t want to store it until she does 😦 Maybe I need one, instead…

Leave a Reply

