Sticky Buns

On Sunday we have some sort of sweet dessert type breakfast. One of our favorite things to have is sticky buns.

When I was really little, my grandmother or one of my aunts would make sticky buns for everyone for breakfast when our whole family was sleeping over my grandparents’ shore house. My mother never made them, so after my nana died, I don’t think I ever had them again.

But I remembered them, that sticky gooey, sugary deliciousness. I wanted to make them again when I was a mother. But I was also into a bit healthier fare than when I was a kid. How many sticks of butter?? How much sugar???

So I had to come up with my own sticky bun recipe. I used maple syrup for the sugar, and thought that seemed a little thin, so I mixed some molasses in with it. I poured that into the bottom of a glass cake pan with a ton of raisins and walnuts.Then I rolled out my bread dough (same no added sugar or fat recipe I use for everything else).

I sprinkle a lot cinnamon on the dough, drizzle some syrup, and roll it up long ways.

Then I slice out buns with a serrated knife, and put them into the syrupy goo in the pan. Cover it with a damp towel and let it rise for a half an hour.

Bake at 350 for some where around 30 minutes, though you’ll have to check to make sure it’s not doughy in the middle before you take it out. Sometimes if it’s getting too done on the top and doughy in the middle still, I’ll take a piece of foil and just tent the pan.

When it’s done, dump it out of the pan upside down so the raisins and walnuts are on top, and the syrup drips down into the bread, let it cool a couple of minutes for the sryup to set. But eat it while it’s still warm, that’s best. We always end up finishing a square pan full the first day between the two of us, and Caleb’s friends that come over.

Sticky Buns Recipe

a half a batch of the artisan bread dough recipe

1/2 cup maple syrup (or more to taste) + 3 T of molasses

lots of nuts and raisins

Easy right?

Local Food update: I found a local cow milk source at Shop N Save. It’s not organic though, but very local. I also found an local source of cheese and butter from an amish company at the same store. I got english walnuts at the farmers market, though I’ll have to shell them myself. My flour says it’s packaged in Ohio, but who knows where it’s actually grown, probably Nebraska. Ditto for oats.

3 thoughts on “Sticky Buns

  1. Oh my gosh, this sounds amazing! I think I just gained ten pounds from looking at the pictures! I can’t wait to see more posts!

  2. Pingback: Fruit and Vegetable Challenge, take two | Mama Made Them

Leave a Reply

