A Day in the Life…

Well, it’s back to real life now. We got back to West Virginia last week. I spent Thursday emptying the car, and putting away our Christmas decorations. I dragged our massive tree outside to the curb littering pine needles everywhere since it was so dry. Friday and Saturday were spent playing catch-up with work. And today it’s back to normal.

I set my alarm for 6:30 so I’d wake up before Caleb. I generally don’t use an alarm, but I’ve gotten out of the habit of waking early over the holidays, so I’m trying to train myself again. I got up after a few minutes and went through my morning routine, checked my email, and got to work.

I started by smooth sanding (the final sanding with 220 grit sandpaper) some toys that I sanded by hand yesterday at the park. Then I drew out 15 sea monsters and cut them, and then bevelled the edges with my dremel.

I’m trying a new system for preparing stock. I took the totals for each toy sold last year, and I’m going to take them one at a time to finish them. Like today: last year I sold 15 sea serpents, so I cut out 15 today, so I should be set for the year. Hopefully of course I will sell more this year than I did last year, but it’s somewhere to start anyway.

For the things I sell multitudes of like keys, bathtub toy sets, airplanes, etc. I couldn’t possibly do them in one day, so I have broken them down into sets to be done each week and completed by such-and-such a date.

We’ll see how it goes. Anyway, after dremeling (it’s not a word, but I have “verbed” the proper noun and I use it every day) the sea monsters and cutting some keys, Caleb had awakened, so I went upstairs for breakfast. We had a leisurely breakfast over a cutthroat game of chess. After the dishes were cleaned up, we played with legos. I put the beeswax polish onto some toys for some of the time we were playing.

After a while I went down to drill holes in the keys, then I came back upstairs to dremel the keys outside since it was a balmy 60 degrees out. After I finished that, I packed up my keys, sea monsters, and Caleb monsters and took them all to the park.

We spent over 2 hours at the park. Caleb found some friends, so I only had to play some of the time, and I sanded some toys. I finished all the sea monsters and made a good start on the keys before the rain came. Caleb’s now washing away the mud and playing with his bathtub toys (some wood, some plastic). I may smooth sand the sea monsters and oil them this afternoon or evening. But that will be the extent of my work for today.

I generally work every day of the week so that I can just take off any day, if say we feel like going to the lake in the summer or the city in the winter or spending the day with a friend or spending weeks visiting family and friends. But Sundays I usually take it easy and do more mother things-like cleaning…or more likely playing endless games of Rook.

One thought on “A Day in the Life…

  1. You’ve got a very good system going on for staying on top of your orders, Cheryl! I’m working on a schedule for us-my kids really do like having an idea of what’s coming next as long as things aren’t too rigid. I like all the play time you’ve got w/Caleb-that’s one area I definitely need to improve on. I get lots of reading time w/my kids but not so much play time. Oh, by the way, we all as a family learned “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening” and really enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

