Discomfort-Zen Habits

Zen Habits is one of my favorite blogs. It was, in fact, the very first blog that I ever followed. I really like his earliest stuff. It’s very inspiring. Leo, the author, totally turned his life around. He quit smoking, lost a bunch of weight, got out of debt, became a runner, and so on. 

His advice is so straightforward, so simple, yet incredibly insightful. Today he wrote a post about discomfort that is bound to make anyone feel uncomfortable. 

A taste:

Unfortunately, most people avoid discomfort. I mean, they really avoid it — at the first sign of discomfort, they’ll run as fast as possible in the other direction. This is perhaps the biggest limiting factor for most people, and it’s why you can’t change your habits.

Think about this: many people don’t eat vegetables because they don’t like the taste. We’re not talking about soul-wrenching pain here, not Guantanamo torture, but a taste that’s just not something you’re used to. And so they eat what they already like, which is sweets and fried stuff and meats and cheeses and salty things and lots of processed flour.”

Ouch. Here’s the link. You gotta check it out. And check out his archives too. Great stuff.

In other news, did I mention that my scroll saw was in the shop again. It broke down right before Christmas, so I left it at the shop while I was away over the holidays, and they shipped it back to me when I got back. 

Unfortunately, it arrived broken. I was devastated. Maybe that’s an exaggeration, but I was quite upset. Well, I shipped it back, and now they are going to give me another one from the factory. So I guess that’s a good thing. Of course it means I’m not getting my saw back until maybe next week, maybe the following week if I’m not lucky. 

It’s uncomfortable. 

Leave a Reply

