Every Day

Laura won the giveaway from January! February and March will be a combined giveaway of my new African Animal Set III.

Wow, it’s been too long since I’ve posted. Once you let a few days go by without writing a blog, it’s very easy to let a few more go by. The longer you go without writing, the harder it is to get back into the habit.

The same goes for most other things you should be (or want to be) doing almost every day. Last spring and summer, I committed to running every day. I didn’t always make it out there every day, but I tried to go running every single day. Towards the end of the summer, I got out of the habit of going, and I never got back to it for the entirety of the fall and Christmas season.

Lately as part of my evening routine, I vacuum the living room every night. Before I did this, I would have said vacuuming every day is excessive and unnecessary. For most people it might be, but for me, with all the dust and wood shavings I track up from the basement, it’s a necessity.

It’s important to do it every day, because if I plan to do it a couple of times a week, which would probably be fine, it won’t get done. I’ll say, I’ll just do it tomorrow! But if I have a goal of doing it every day, then I have to do it today. I can’t wait until tomorrow. So even if you miss a day, the next day you get right back into it.

So my new goal is to write something for you every day. Is there anything that you want to plan to do daily?

My daily routine is like this:

Wake up

Wipe down sink and toilet

Bring down dirty laundry and start it if the machine is full

Empty dish rack

Plan breakfast and lunch

Work until Caleb wakes up

 

During the day, I plan to …

-work for at least an hour and a half in the basement

-run or do aerobic exercise for at least 30 minutes

-write for blog

-do Spanish (Rosetta Stone)

 

The evening routine is…

Clean up all the dishes and sink

Vacuum the living room

Sweep the kitchen and foyer and steps

2 thoughts on “Every Day

  1. yay-can’t wait to see the sun house-thanks again! I’m just so impressed w/all you get done BEFORE Caleb wakes up. My mistake is staying up too late, so that I end up waking up with my kids and not before. So, my daily habit that I’m trying to do is to be in bed by 11, so that I can wake up before them and have some time to plan the school day, spend time in the Word, drink some coffee, journal, etc. And what I’d like to do after each meal? The dishes! Why, oh why, do I let them pile up until there are so many by the end of the day that it’s scary! And you’re right about routines. It’s much easier if it becomes a habit, otherwise it’s too easy to skip it. I also need to add exercise back into my day. For now, it just happens on the weekend when Will can watch the kids, so I can get out and go for a run. But I do have exercise videos I could do during the week….just need to get them out and actually do them! I tried Zumba once and LOVED IT-have you ever done that? I’d love to do it again, but it’s hard with Will’s work schedule to plan on any activity in the evening since he never knows from day to day when he’ll be finished.

    • Doing the dishes and keeping the kitchen clean is my most important task of the day, it seems to affect every thing else. I have never done zumba. I sort of hate aerobics-very uncoordinated in that respect.

Leave a Reply

