New Animals and a Ladder!

I’ve got some new toys for you to view today. All were originally custom orders from clients. So if you are interested in something that I don’t have in my shop, just ask. You’ll be doing me a favor, because while it isn’t too difficult to come up with ideas, it is hard to follow through and force yourself to make them. It’s easier when someone is paying you to get the job done.

Without further ado, here is the third edition of african animals.

100_6907

 

It’s a little hard to see the monkey since it’s so dark, but I was really happy with how it turned out. It’s very cute. And how do you like the rope tail? That was the biggest problem I had with trying to make monkeys in the past. I couldn’t figure out how to make a monkey tail that wouldn’t be too thin and break easily. I’ve made zebras before, but I stopped selling them because I didn’t like the way their stripes turned out in the woodburning. But I think I cracked the code on zebra stripes this time, and they look mildly authentic.

There is a crocodile with the set, that I am also offering separately with another slightly smaller croc.

100_6906

 

They could also double as alligators.

Another customer bought a dollhouse and some furniture, and requested a ladder for the dollhouse. The idea was that they would use the stairs when it was a house, and the ladder when it was the barn. Multiple use, which I LOVE.

100_6901

 

Pop is fixing the siding. These new toys were a big hit with Caleb, and he requested a crocodile, a monkey, and his own ladder. Well, he probably requested all of them, but those 3 were the only ones I made for him.

The African Animals III set is the one I am giving away to a commenter for February and March, so let me know what you think.

I’m committing to write every day, so let me know what sort of things you want to hear about too.

 

5 thoughts on “New Animals and a Ladder!

  1. I’d love to hear more about when you sell at events and how your prepare. Along that vein, have you heard about I Made it Market in Pittsburgh? I just sold at my first event and although there was a wooden toy seller, your toys are far superior.

  2. Showed the kids the new African set-they love it. Ella said she’d love to have a leopard added though. I think it has something to do with the fact that she was a leopard in her recent dance recital. 🙂 So, come June, (her birthday month), you may be getting a custom order request from me!

  3. I’d love to win a set of your new animals for my daughter! She loves playing with the wooden keys we bought from your etsy shop, along with the sea animal bath set!

Leave a Reply

