Make Your Own Pasta

I have been making my own lasagna noodle for a while now. I made them once to try it, and Caleb liked them so much that he insists upon them every time now. I make lasagna once every 2 months. It’s not very healthy, and it’s expensive. So I just rolled out my noodles by hand, and as a result, they were sort of thick.

Caleb called them fat noodles, and he loved the noodles that I would cook with the extra dough. I looked at pasta machines, but was turned off by the price. So when I found a pasta machine at Goodwill a few weeks ago, I snapped it up.

After I tried it out once with a regular white flour dough, it was time to go whole wheat. After all, if Walmart can make 100% whole wheat spaghetti, why can’t I?

So here goes:

The recipe:

3 cups flour (I used white whole wheat and a small amount of regular whole wheat)
3/4 cup water
1 teaspoon salt

100_6911

I start it in the food processor, because it’s really hard to get a stiff dough like that mixed by hand. You might need to add extra water if it won’t hold together when you squeeze a clump of it.

100_6912

 

Then you dump it out on to the counter or cutting board and start kneading. If you have a stand mixer with a dough hook, that would make the kneading part easier. All the recipes say to knead for like 10 minutes. I never make it that long. Then form your dough into a ball and let it rest for 20-30 minutes.

100_6914

 

Split your dough into 3 or 4 pieces and flatten them enough to feed through the rollers of your machine. No machine? Just roll it out with a rolling pin.

100_6917

 

Mine usually ends up looking like this the first time through, just keeping folding it over and running it through the widest setting until it looks pretty smooth, then start thinning it out.

100_6922

 

When it’s thin enough either leave it wide for lasagna or run it through the cutters for spaghetti or linguini. Some of it we ate that night, the rest I hung over night to dry.

100_6921

 

I then packaged the dry stuff into zip lock bags. You can also freeze it. Of course when you cook the fresh stuff keep checking it, because it will cook faster than dry pasta. I made some butternut alfredo and broccoli to go with mine, and Caleb stuck with tomato sauce.

100_6888

 

The pasta machine is super fun too. Caleb and I fight over being able to turn the crank. 🙂

 

One thought on “Make Your Own Pasta

  1. Never even knew there was such a thing as a pasta machine-very cool. I would be interested in trying out your recipe for lasagna noodles, though. We haven’t had lasagna in a good while. 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

