Make Your Own Whole Wheat Tortillas

A couple of days ago, I decided to make my own tortillas. Why you ask? Well, I’m a big do-it-yourself sort of girl, but the main reason was because I am trying to avoid partially hydrogenated oils, and every brand of store bought tortillas uses shortening-at least every brand that I have found.

So I started searching the web for a good recipe, and came across this one. It didn’t have any added fats in in at all, and the reviews were generally positive, so I decided to give it a shot.

      4 cups whole wheat flour (I used mostly white whole wheat)
      1 tsp salt
      1/4 tsp baking powder
        1.5 cups boiling water

     

          Mix it all up and knead the dough for 2 minutes. Let it rest for 20 mins, and then form your tortillas.

      I’ve tried making tortillas before, with white flour, and I could never get them remotely thin enough. This time I had the bright idea to use my new pasta machine to smash them thin. It didn’t really work. They weren’t nearly wide enough, so I reverted to the rolling pin. That worked well, and these tortillas rolled out fairly thin. Thin enough to actually use them for a burrito, unlike my last attempt.

      However, I have discovered a delicious way to eat burritos: I call it an open faced burrito. Lay your tortilla down on your plate, spread guacamole and salsa on the tortilla, then top it with all your fixings. We generally use vegetarian chili or just beans, sauteed peppers and onions and corn, tomatoes, raw shredded carrots and raw broccoli chopped up small.

      100_6923

      This was my second one. Hence the messy plate. I really like eating a burrito this way, because of the increase in filling to tortilla ratio. In NJ, there is this great chain of fast food restaurants, similar to Chipotle, but they make their own tortillas-Pancheros. These tortillas are the most amazing things ever-so thin and supple and delicious. Perfect for making burritos. They’ve pretty much ruined me for burritos elsewhere.

      Caleb requested some strawberries with his meal. He was sitting there staring at the roof, savoring them, completely oblivious to everything else going on. Of course once I grabbed the camera, he started clowning.

      100_6924

       

      He has been perfect so far about eating his 2 cups of fruit and 2 cups of vegetables every day. Some days he even eats extra.

      Yesterday I had stayed up too late the night before, and I was feeling lazy, so I didn’t think I would go running. But I had to drop off some packages anyway, and go to Lowes, so I figured I might as well go to the gym while I was out. Caleb brought a lego thing to build, and I ended up running for a little over an hour. And when I was done, I was so glad that I had. I felt great. And I hadn’t even wanted to go in the first place!

      So does anyone else make their own tortillas? Do you have a tortilla press that you like?

       

      One thought on “Make Your Own Whole Wheat Tortillas

      1. We think alike. I also bypassed buying tortillas at the store for the same reason last week. However, Full Circle makes some good organic tortilla chips, so we used those in a venison taco salad. I definitely want to try this recipe though-sounds easy enough. And I love the toppings on your burrito-we’re so used to eating venison but we try to do at least one meatless night a week-we probably should up that to 2-3 nights and this would be something good to have. Thanks!

      Leave a Reply

      