Simple Meals

I thought I’d share a few of my favorite easy meals with you. I love to cook and make complicated recipes, but I think I prefer simplicity most of the time. Just a couple of ingredients and a couple of minutes.

1. Black Beans, Tomatoes, and diced jalapenos. This is my all time favorite. I used to eat it with chips (like they were a spoon) and sour cream (vegan) too, but lately I’ve weaned myself down just to the good stuff. Heat a can of black beans (drained rinsed). Dice tomatoes or slice them in half if they are cherries (my favorite). Mix the tomatoes, beans, and a small amount of jarred jalapeno peppers. Dig in. Obviously this is best during the summer with fresh tomatoes.

2. Black Beans, Romaine lettuce, and diced jalapenos. This is my favorite salad with a cooked ingredient. Chop up a head of romaine, and dump the heated beans and jalapenos on top. Enjoy!

3. Steamed Broccoli and whole wheat spaghetti with a little butter (I use earth balance) and a little garlic salt. This was my staple meal in college. I butter and garlic salt the spaghetti, and then dump it on top of the broccoli, because I don’t want the broccoli buttery. Boiling the spaghetti with small chunks of garlic is good. The idea here is LOTS of broccoli, and a small amount of pasta.

4. Salad. Fill a big bowl with lettuce or any salad green and then dump stuff on top. My favorite fruit combo: grapes/strawberries/raisins, apples/grapes/raisins, mangos/strawberries. Putting fruit on salad eliminates the “need” for an oily dressing. Or you can dump beans, chili, tomato sauce, etc on it. Another tasty thing is to use guacamole as your dressing. It’s a whole food fat, and it’s Tasty.

5. Mashed potatoes and loads of Kale. Just like that. Boil your potatoes, steam your kale. I make mashed potatoes with just enough soy or almond milk to whip them- no butter, no cheese. I figure if I want butter, I’ll put it on top, then I can actually taste it, and I’ll use less. Same goes for salt. Salt the potatoes on your plate, you’ll taste it more and use less. I use garlic salt.

These are my top five favorite meals. Most of them have 2 main ingredients. They can be prepared quickly, and you can taste each distinct flavor. If you aren’t vegetarian, any of these would probably be good with some chicken, fish, or cow on top.

What are your go-to easy meals?

Yesterdays run down:

Breakfast-green smoothie

Lunch-spring mix with leftover homemade chili on top

post-workout snack- Fresh OJ and some medjool dates

Dinner-Pasta (made from dried homemade pasta) and broccoli with a leftover homemade pita from curry night. Dessert: strawberries and medjool dates

Work done- Cut and Sanded parts for 3 Little Kitchens.

Workout- Ran for an hour and 10 mins with about 10 minutes of walking.

TV-2 episodes of Alias (I can’t stop. 😦 )

 

I hope you got some ideas today. Let me know what your favorite simple meals are.

4 thoughts on “Simple Meals

  1. I go shopping once a week. On Tuesdays, because one of the local stores has a sale on bananas on Tuesdays. During the farmer’s market season, I shop on Mondays and Tuesdays, because the market is Monday.

  2. I love the idea of fruit on a salad-I’ll have to try that soon. Typically, we have spinach, olives, tomatoes, bell pepper, and carrots and our dressing is homemade-about a tablespoon of red wine vinegar mixed w/extra virgin olive oil and a little salt and pepper. I have you to thank for eating more veggie dinners this week-we had black bean burritos w/guacamole, carrots, tomatoes, bell peppers and a little cheese-yum!, spaghetti w/tomato/basil sauce, sweet potato fries and collards, and then lentil soup and cornbread. 4 meatless days in a week-a record for us. Thanks, Cheryl, for all your ideas. And wanted to share w/you an easy black bean crock pot recipe. I double it, so I can freeze the beans for later meals. They taste so much better to me than the ones out of the can. Here’s the link for the recipe: http://www.savemoneylivejoyfully.com/2011/05/if-you-make-one-recipe-this-weekmake.html
    and with this recipe, you DON’T need to soak the beans first. Oh, and I don’t leave the onion whole, I actually chop up a whole onion, then maybe do 1/2 of another one in slices. I like my beans with onions. 🙂

  3. All your dinners sound so yummy! I’ll have to try that black bean recipe. If you haven’t noticed from my recipes, I looove black beans. I’ve never had good success with cooking dry ones though. They always fall apart. I’ll have to try again.

Leave a Reply

