Make Stuff Night-Sunflower Butter and Hummus and Carrot-Cauliflower Soup

Sorry I’ve been MIA recently. I don’t seem to adjust well to time changes. My schedule is all out of whack.

Last night, while I was making dinner. I decided I’d try to make some Sunflower Seed Butter. I’d seen this post online, and it seemed easy enough, so I bought a whole ton of sunflower seeds to try it. Well, I had that food processor running for at least 20 minutes before dinner, and then 10 or more after dinner, and it never really got the right consistency. I don’t know if my food processor is just not good enough or what, but it was disappointing. I’ll probably just use it for adding body to soups and chilis and curries, etc.

The dinner soup was quite tasty though. I had more than half of an enormous head of cauliflower to use up, so I thought I’d try a recipe for carrot cauliflower soup, adjusted to fit my ingredients. It turned out great. It’s pureed at the end, so you would never know it was more than half cauliflower. I may use it to replace my other carrot soup, since it has all those cruciferous vegetables in it.

Carrot-Cauliflower Soup Recipe

9 carrots (small-medium sized ones)

1 head of cauliflower (if it’s a normal sized head-my head was like twice the size of a normal one)

2 large onions

5 cloves of garlic

2 large stalks of celery

2 bouillon cubes (or use stock)

1 tsp of curry powder

1 tsp of smoked paprika

1/2 tsp of cumin

1/4 cup or more of sun butter (or almond butter or almonds or cashews)

Chop everything up. It’s going to be blended so don’t worry about chopping small. Add water to almost cover the vegetables, and then let the soup simmer until everything is tender. Then puree with the sun butter. I always salt my soup on the table with garlic salt if it needs it. You use less salt, and you taste it more. Pepper is always good on top too.

 

After the sun butter, I decided to make Banana Whip since the food processor was already dirty. Just chop or break up some frozen bananas, and process them until they don’t have any lumps in them. I added a half an avocado to it last night to make it creamier.

I also decided to make hummus, since there wasn’t any hummus on sale yesterday when I went shopping. I read somewhere that removing the skins from the chick peas makes for a creamier hummus, so while Caleb and I were playing Acquire, we were also skinning chick peas. The hummus was fairly creamy, but definitely not worth the hassle of taking off all the skins. Now all that remains is to see if Caleb will actually eat it since it tastes different than the store bought stuff….

Oh yeah, for those of you in the know about Acquire (members of our family), Caleb lost by just $100!

 

Leave a Reply

