Get in Bed Earlier…Even if you Don’t want to go to sleep yet

This is my revelation. I am trying to get Caleb and I into bed at bedtime-like the time I want to be going to sleep. Which is fine for me, but Caleb needs time to wind down. He’s a bouncy child, and tempers can flare around this time of night.

I just need to get us into bed with our story well in advance of when I want to fall asleep. That way he has time to look at books before I turn out the light, and I’m not too tired for Tickle Time after our story. I decided that 45 minutes should do the trick: 15 minutes for story, 15 minutes for goofiness and tickling, and 15 minutes for quit reading, then lights out.

Of course, tonight we went to the library movie night on the spur of the moment after we went to the gym, so we didn’t get home until almost 8 pm. Fortunately, dinner was a quick recipe, so I was able to have it on the table in about 20 minutes. Still, I don’t like finishing dinner that late, because of course now we aren’t getting in bed earlier.

How much earlier do you get in bed before you want to go to sleep (or get your children in bed)?

Oh yeah, I ran out of spinach last week and started using kale for my smoothies. It was totally fine, not bitter at all. So kale and spinach both work great. I’ll alternate between them now.

Daily Rundown-

Breakfast-Green Smoothie with blackberries and pineapple with a splash of pomegranate juice (it was on sale).

I had a snack of walnuts and raisins around 12, because I was hungry.

Lunch-Red Leaf Lettuce with strawberries and grapes and raisins; leftover carrot soup with a carrot raisin muffin (from the freezer)

Snacks while I watched the movie at the library-3 clementines, an apple, 2 dates, and a banana. Caleb had popcorn-which fortunately the guy forgot to dump the fake popcorn butter-oil-chemical concoction on, so it was actually a healthy snack (unlike the soda that they also had out there to feed to children!)

Dinner-Green Leafy Morrocan Medley with about half a cup of cous-cous and 2 carrot raisin muffins. The leafy medley was a morrocan spiced dish with onions, garlic, red pepper, mushrooms, and 8 cups of so of kale and mustard greens. It was surprisingly tasty. Caleb even decided he liked it, and ate a whole cup full of it. Of course there are lots of leftovers, so I’m going to see how some of it freezes.

Workout-ran for 30 minutes at the gym-I felt good, fresh. I could have gone longer, but we were cutting our gym time short to make the movie night. I hardly did anything the past 2 days, so it was nice to get moving. I’m dying for some spring like weather, but the forecast is is grim.

TV- just the movie at the library, but I was reading a book too, so I don’t think that should count. πŸ™‚

One thought on “Get in Bed Earlier…Even if you Don’t want to go to sleep yet

  1. That’s about right-45 minutes-but if we miss their window, they get all wound up and it’s much harder to get them into bed. We always read books before going to bed. And I’ve found that when I lie down with my daughter, she falls asleep much faster AND it gives us some time for just the 2 of us to chat about our day and what we forgot to do and what she’d like to do tomorrow. πŸ™‚ My older son spends this time w/his Daddy in our bed.

    By the way, just had to share something so exciting with you! I was searching the fridge the other night for something to eat and all I had was some spinach and a little bit of black beans (from that recipe I shared w/you). So, I thought, “Okay, Cheryl is always talking about beans on her salad, so I’ll try it.” It was delicious! So last night, I warmed up the beans and added them to a bowl full of spinach w/just a little cheese mixed in and my whole family gobbled it up and asked for 2nds! We had baked sweet potato fries to go w/it and fruit for dessert. It’s on the menu for next week too. Thank you for all your healthful menu ideas!

Leave a Reply

