Never Gain Weight, except when you are pregnant

That’s my motto as far as body size goes. And of course that means weight from fat not muscle. If you pay attention to your body, you know when you gain weight, which should be the cue for you to stop eating processed foods and start exercising again or more often or more vigorously. My goal is to never go up a jeans size.

As I was thinking about that while I was running today, I got to thinking of the times when that wouldn’t be possible. Since I’m a woman, the first thing that I thought of was pregnancy. When you are pregnant, you can’t even wear jeans, you put on weight, and you have to. So I was thinking about ways to minimize the harm that pregnancy can do to our waistlines and subsequently to our health.

And harm it does. Thinking about the times when women gain the most weight, I came up with after they get married and after they have kids. Obviously there are other times that people gain weight, single women are not uniformly slender. But today I want to focus on the weight gained when we have kids.

Weight gain when you are pregnant is unavoidable. And cutting back on calories can be harmful to your baby’s health and your own. BUT this does not give pregnant women the license tover I wanted! And honestly, although I cleaned up my diet a lot when I got pregnant, I also indulged quite a bit along with all the fruits and vegetables.

Even my midwife of all people, told me to drink milkshakes: lots of protein and fat and calcium was her rationale. Are you kidding me?? Even though I thought her advice was ridiculous, I also used it as an excuse to indulge in milkshakes (which have always been a favorite of mine).  eat whatever we want. I can’t count how many times people said to me when I was pregnant that now was my chance to eat whate

Pregnancy should be a time to eat more food yes, but more healthy food. It’s not an excuse to eat anything. Packing on the pounds when you are pregnant is just as bad as when you aren’t pregnant. Eat healthy food until you are full, just like before. I gained almost 60 pounds when I was pregnant, and I wasn’t having twins.

Putting on extra weight when you are pregnant just makes it harder to lose when you have the baby. Losing weight after giving birth takes time. And it’s harder than before, because you can’t just go for a run; you have a baby to take care of.

My objective in writing this post is to make an attempt to eradicate this myth that pregnant women should eat whatever and how much ever of what they want. Just because you are pregnant, doesn’t mean that ice cream is not bad for you anymore.

And as long as we are trying to stamp out harmful myths about pregnancy, do the rest of us a favor and don’t use pregnancy as an excuse to be a bitch. If I see this stereotype on one more sitcom, I’m gonna scream. Everyone has reasons to be mean sometimes, but we need to rise above these base urges especially as we are preparing for motherhood.

Exercise is also important when you are pregnant. For the first 3 months of my pregnancy, I didn’t really exercise at all. Running was uncomfortable, and I had just graduated from college, so I no longer had my gym there. When I joined a gym at 3 months, it was the best thing I ever did.

I had horrible congestion while I was pregnant, but when I was moving and for some time afterwards, I could breath! All the reasons there are to exercise when you aren’t pregnant are even more important when you are pregnant. Regular exercise helps you remain healthy when you are pregnant. It puts you in a better mood. It might help with delivery even and those swollen ankles and aching back.

Despite all the weight I gained, I was shooting baskets (albeit awkwardly) on my due date. Pregnancy is not an excuse to sit on your butt and order your husband around. That is not healthy.

Okay, I’ve had my say, now for the daily rundown:

Breakfast-pineapple and bananas, with a snack of walnuts and raisins around noon

Lunch-about 2 cups of raw broccoli with my homemade hummus, and then a big bowl of red grapes and some medjool dates

Post-workout-3 clementines and 2 dates

Dinner-Homemade chili, homemade corn tortillas, guac, shredded carrots

Workout-walked for 45 minutes in the morning and ran for 30 at the gym and I treaded water and swam in the pool

Leave a Reply

