How to Take Your Craft Business on the Road

Well, I haven’t been posting, because I’ve been on the road visiting my hometown. Until I moved to West Virginia, I lived in the same place my whole life. I was actually born in the house that I lived in. Almost all of my extended family lives here, and most of my brothers and most of my friends. Needless to say, I try to get back to visit often.

Running my own business means I can take off whenever I feel like it, but it also means that I have to find a way to keep the shop running while I am not at home.

One way I keep things moving is to bring the most popular toys with me. More than half of my large suitcase was full of toys this time. This way I can ship them right away. Ideally I’d have at least one of every item I sell here, so I could travel stress-free.

The other way, which only works when I travel here, is to keep a second workshop. My parents have one of those pre-fab barns that they keep tools and bikes in, and I keep extra tools in there. I have a scroll saw, belt sander, miter saw (which is actually my brother’s), and a drill press. And a really junky bandsaw. And of course a dremel and palm sander. All I’m missing is a table saw. The tools I have here are not the best quality (with the exception of the scroll saw), but they can get the job done.

With tools, I can take my time and visit, and I’m not sacrificing production completely. And if someone wants a custom order, or something that I don’t have in stock here, I don’t have to panic that I’m missing out on money.

If I travelled by car instead of by bus, taking the business on the road would be easier. I’d just stuff the car with toys, and bring some tools with me. That’s what I did when we lived in our van for 6 months. I couldn’t take custom orders (except when we were staying and working at the farm, because there I had plugs for my tools), but my expenses were almost non-existant.

In other news, I had a birthday, so I’m now 29 years old. And I almost feel like a grown-up. I had a whole wheat, no refined sugar applesauce cake for the birthday. We smother it in applesauce for the icing.

Yesterdays’ Rundown:

Breakfast-Green Smoothie-bananas, blackberries, spinach, pineapple, and pomegranate juice

Snack-a piece of applesauce cake

Lunch-Spring Mix Salad with chili on top

Dinner-Green Smoothie and salad with fruit (at my parents house we often have raw dinners)

Workout-ran for 30 minutes on the treadmill, and about 20 on a recumbent exercise bike

 

One thought on “How to Take Your Craft Business on the Road

  1. Happy belated Birthday! I live close to my parents and sisters and see them a lot. I’ve been slowly trying to set up a sewing/cutting space out of the way to use when I’m there.

Leave a Reply

