When TO Procrastinate

Procrastination is generally a bad idea, but there are times when procrastination can be a very effective tool to get the results you desire.

1. When you are trying to eat more healthfully. 

I use this tactic all the time. You feel like eating some chips or cookies or crackers, but you know you shouldn’t to feel your best. So just put off eating them until later. Find something else to do, have a different snack, and before you know it, it’s bedtime, and you never made time for that unhealthy snack.

Another way to use this is, “If I still want X in the morning, I’ll have it for breakfast.”

Because I don’t know about you, but the idea that I would NEVER have chips again would send me straight to the bottom of a bag of Tostitos. But by the time breakfast comes around, I certainly am not still interested in eating chips.

There are loads more unhealthy options at my parent’s house (not that they eat them, they buy them for us kids), so I’ve been procrastinating about eating them. If I can put off eating them until closer to the time when I leave, I’m bound to eat less of them.

You can also use this to get your kids to eat healthier, just put off getting them unhealthy snacks when they ask for them, and maybe they’ll forget about it.

2. When you feel like watching something.

Tell yourself you just do 5 minutes of cleaning up and 5 minutes of work, or just do a quick blog post or one section of Rosetta Stone Spanish. And before you know it, your son is awake or tired of playing by himself or out of the bathtub, and you missed your chance to watch something.

3. Buying stuff.

I’m not talking about buying stuff you NEED. That you do not want to put off, because if you do, you will certainly break a bandsaw blade while you are finishing up a wholesale order and have to order new blades and wait a week for them to arrive (just happened to me). OR you will be just about to make muffins when you realize you are all out of cooking spray and they stick horribly without it.

I’m talking about extra pairs of shoes that you don’t really need. The new dress, the kitchen gadget, etc, etc. Just put it off until later, and you might find you don’t really want it as much as you thought you did.

Can you think of any other times when procrastination pays off? Because I’ve gotta end this post and read my son a story now that he’s out of the tub.

In other news, for those of you in the know, Caleb won his first game of 3 man Acquire, beating me and my dad. This is a game of a fair amount of skill and strategy.

Daily Rundown

Breakfast-green smoothie

Lunch-salad with black beans and guacamole

Dinner-green smoothie (that was actually a beautiful reddish-purple), and salad with fruit

Snack-strawberries and dates

Workout-ran for 30 minutes on the treadmill

Work done-None, I’m sort of on vacation.

TV watched-some college basketball

Leave a Reply

