Carrot Raisin Muffins

Someone asked for this recipe, and here it is. It’s from Vegan with a Vengeance, which is one of my favorite cookbooks, and this is one of my favorite muffin recipes.

Carrot Raisin Muffins 

1/2 cup of raisins (you can soak them while you are getting everything else ready, but I never do)

1.5 cups of flour (I use regular whole wheat flour.)

2 tsp. of baking powder

1/2 tsp of baking soda

1/2 tsp of salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 cup sugar (I just leave this out, and they are fine. I’m not used to sweet muffins, so I don’t miss it.)
1 cup milk (I use soy or almond.)
1/4 cup canola oil (I sub all but a tablespoon of this for applesauce.)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups grated carrot
Mix all the dry stuff with all the wet stuff, and then fold in the carrots and raisins. Put them into a well greased muffin pan. Bake them at 400 degrees (though I usually do them at 350 or 375) until they are done (15-20 minutes).
And now I’m really hungry.
Yesterdays Rundown:
Breakfast: green smoothie with 4 bananas, about a half cup of black berries, a small amount of raspberries, and more than a half a cup of mango with about 3 big stalks of kale and a bit of pomegranate juice.
Lunch: One large head of romaine lettuce chopped up with black beans and guacamole and diced jalapeno peppers
Snack after workout-a pink lady apple (which was really good) and 3 dates
Dinner-leftover split pea soup, big salad with fruit, and a whole wheat pita (from the ones I made yesterday) with a half tablespoon of earth balance butter
Workout-ran outside for a half an hour and did crunches, pushups, and squats
Work done-sanded those airplanes, well, most of them, I’ll finish them up today
One thought on “Carrot Raisin Muffins

  1. Yay! Thanks so much! They sound delicious-can’t wait to try them. We really enjoy muffins and the kids like to help make them; we just had apple millet muffins this morning for breakfast. I hope you and Caleb have a wonderful Easter!

Leave a Reply

