Kale and Red Pepper Wrap / Salad

100_6955

The spring and summer after I had Caleb, I was very conscious of eating healthfully. I gave up chips and sugar without hardly a thought. I was a new mother and my son nursed Constantly. Seriously. All the time.

I also had a newspaper route where I delivered papers in my car (with my mostly sleeping son) from 3-5 or 6 a.m. Every Single Day. I swear if I hadn’t eaten so well, I would have been run down and unwell from that schedule.

As it was, I felt tired from lack of sleep, but otherwise pretty good. I lost my baby weight after I started the route (though didn’t regain my pre-baby figure). I had to run the papers up to the doorstep the first route I had, and I ran them up, no walking for me, I needed the exercise.

I had a membership to Costco that year, and my favorite thing to eat for lunch in those days was a wrap and a green smoothie. Costco had the best whole wheat wraps. They were rectangular instead of round like a tortilla, so you could have maximum filling per wrap.

The key to keep the filling in the wrap is foil. Wrap the end of your wrap in foil so the stuff doesn’t fall out the end.

Recently, I was in the mood for something different, and I remembered the days of my delicious wraps. This is what I came up with…

Recipe

 About 4 large leaves of lacinato (dino) kale thinly shredded

1 large red bell pepper-diced

roughly ¼ cup of hummus-any kind (more or less to taste)

roughly ¼ cup of guacamole (more or less to taste)

 Mix it all up in a bowl, and then stuff it into a pita or wrap it up in something. I used 2 whole wheat tortillas that I had lying around to make a big wrap. I secured it with foil that I rolled down as I ate. It was delicious, just like the old days.

 I was hungry and not up for much fuss, but any veggies would go well with this. Broccoli, especially, would be nice. And shredded carrots. It would have been totally delicious as a salad too. 

Daily Rundown:

Breakfast-Green smoothie and then 3 blueberry pancakes with maple syrup

Lunch-banana smoothie and 1.5 stalks of celery

Snack-a small apple and 4 dates

Dinner-homemade corn tortillas topped with guacamole, cooked veggies, raw tomatoes, shredded carrots and broccoli, and black beans

Workout- ran 30 minutes on the treadmill at the gym

Work done- one Sun House-start to finish, and finished sanding the keys for the week

Tv- none, as it is a no-TV month for me. I had a dream last night that I watched a tv show on my computer, and then I realized that I wasn’t allowed to, and I was like, “nooo, now I’m going to have to give my cousin $10!” It was a very realistic dream. I was relieved when I realized that it was just a dream, and I hadn’t failed in my quest for a month without watching anything.

Leave a Reply

