Super Quick Dinner Rolls

Last night I was hungry and tired from a hard run when we got home from the gym around 6pm. It was pasta night, and I already knew I wanted a big bowl overflowing with broccoli with some spaghetti on top, but I was also craving bread to go with it. We had french toast last week and we gobbled up the raisin bread loaf, so there wasn’t one piece of bread left in the house.

I wasn’t in the mood for making muffins or for going back out to the store. So I figured I’d just rush the whole bread making process.

I mixed up a batch of bread dough-

3 cups of warm water mixed with 1.5 tablespoons of active dry yeast and 1.5 (or less) tablespoons for kosher salt.

Then stir in 6.5 cups of flour (I use whole wheat, white whole wheat, and one cup of white flour)

Then I skipped the initial rise, and took part of the dough and formed it into balls a little bigger than golf balls. I put the balls into a bread pan just barely touching each other, and let them rise for 15 minutes while the oven was heating up to 450. I then brushed the tops with a little bit of butter, and baked them for 15-20 minutes.

The recipe that gave me this idea added 1/4 cup of sugar and oil and an egg to the bread dough, and baked for only 10 minutes. But I went with my artisan Bread in Five Minutes recipe, and it took longer than 10 minutes. But even so, I had freshly baked rolls with my broccoli and pasta in just over 30 minutes. I felt like I was in a restaurant, except my rolls were much healthier, and the vegetable portion was much larger!

I finished baking the rest of the dough into a small plain loaf and a large raisin bread loaf after 2 rises. The house smelled delicious all night.

Yesterday’s Rundown:

Breakfast-strawberry smoothie and pancakes with strawberries on top and maple syrup

Lunch-large salad of 5 oz. of baby romaine (red and green), strawberries, grapes, and raisins and a strawberry smoothie and for “dessert” I had a couple date-nut balls

Snack-some dates after running

Dinner-broccoli, spaghetti, and homemade dinner rolls

Work done-dollhouse, finished up a bunch of other stuff, made 2 bridges for billy goats sets

Workout-3 miles on the treadmill at the gym with a fast (for me) finish, then some walking and running and sprinting to finish out the hour

TV-none, but I really wanted a fix last night. Caleb and I were butting heads all night it felt like, and after he finally crashed, I wanted more than anything to get back up and check out in front of mindless entertainment. When I realized I didn’t want it badly enough to break my fast, I thought, “oo, I have a good book I could read too!” But it was already 11pm, and I knew if I got up I would regret it this morning. So I stayed abed.

Leave a Reply

