Second Frost this May with another on the Way

I woke up at 6 this morning, came down stairs, glanced out the window at my car, and said, “&^%*!”

100_6998

It had frosted again! Last week there was another frost that killed my basil plant and damaged my peppers. I have gardens all around my house on different levels. In front of my house the ground is 2 feet or so lower than the side, where I park my car. The back of my house is about 5-6 feet lower than the side yard.

100_7001

100_6997

The bulk of my peppers and tomatoes are planted in the front yard and the back yard.

100_6999

The top gardens are planted with onions, peas, spinach, and lettuce. But I have 2 pepper plants up there with the lettuce in heavy frost territory. They were sad little things, and though I took a page from Farmer Boy, and watered them with cold water before the sun hit them, I don’t think they are going to make it.

100_7000

 

There’s a chance of frost tonight, so I’m going to cover the other peppers with a sheet just in case. The tomatoes are tougher, and they are mostly in the backyard, which is pretty sheltered (and shaded :P).

I was talking to my neighbor today, and she ripped up some oregano and chives for me to plant. I got tarragon at a plant swap I went to, and I bought 2 lavender plants. I planted basil, chamomile, cilantro, and dill seeds. My herb garden is pretty well filled in. I need some thyme and parsley (although I’m not really that fond of parsley). I have loads of 2 varieties of mint.

My blueberry bushes have some blueberries on them. My raspberry patch is spreading and looking lush, so I hope for a few raspberries. The strawberries have some blossoms and we actually got a strawberry yesterday. They are sending out runners too, so I’ll be transplanting them wherever I can find room. I eat loads of strawberries. I could easily have an acre of strawberry plants and eat them all myself, I think.

Things I have left to plant:

-butternut squash

-cucumbers (one or two plants)

-zucchini (one or two plants)

-more potatoes (I’m late, I know, I know!)

-garlic (for harvesting green)

-Cherokee Purple tomatoes – my all time favorite, but I have to go to a special place to get them (I know, I know, I should start them from seed…)

-more peppers, apparently :/

-watermelon, they never get big enough, but I feel obligated to plant it anyway, because it’s so yummy!

-hm, probably other stuff too, but I’m tired and hungry, so I’ll let you know about that later.

 

Leave a Reply

