Mineral Springs, lakes, and the proper way to cut 2 strawberries (acc. to C)

100_7018

Last week we went to the lake, and stopped off on our way to check out the Mineral Springs. They were gorgeous, and Caleb had a good time dragging around logs to make cannons and barricades and whatnot.

100_7021

100_7024

Then we went to the lake, and there were lakes and canals built. You can see my new sailboat (that really sails) floating around there too.

Now Caleb will demonstrate the proper way to cut two strawberries at a time…

100_7012

100_7015

Yes, he’s using a sharp knife. He’s used sharp knives since he was two, I would say. Though when he was younger, there was closer supervision. But surprisingly (or not), he has been very careful with them. If he’s chopping something round (carrots, onions, potatoes, etc.), I cut them in half for him first, so they are stable. He’s never once cut himself in 6 years. I certainly can’t say that about myself! When we get older, I think we are less wary of certain dangers and less careful than a child might be.

It was funny. A family I babysat for wouldn’t let their 8 and 10 year olds use sharp knives, and there I was encouraging my 2 year old to cut up mango pieces for my salad. Trust your kids. Round tipped knives can be used if you are worried about them poking their eye out. Model for them safe ways to cut things. Let them start out with soft things, and gradually move to more difficult things as they feel ready.

3 thoughts on “Mineral Springs, lakes, and the proper way to cut 2 strawberries (acc. to C)

  1. I was so happy to see this post. My two year old has been expressing interest in cutting his own food and helping with food. Since he has been able to he has always helped in one way or another- mixing, pouring, stirring-even gasp..stirring things on the hot stove. He has beeen trying to cut with a butter knife and I can tell it is starting to frustrate him. I have been considering giving him a sharper knife but I keep thinking what two year old cuts with a sharp knife. I try to always follow Arlo’s lead and trust my own instincts but with this I was having trouble. I am going to start working with knife skills with him soon! The tricky part will be to introduce it at a time when he is open to learning as he likes to throw things when frustrated!

    • Hi, I would start with softer things like bananas, mangos, strawberries, avocados, move on to things like peppers and tomatoes that are fairly soft, but trickier. Maybe show him how to mince up herbs, that’s a good way to practice with a big knife. Serrated knives are nice, because they don’t have to be a sharp to cut, they can “saw” with them. Let him see that the knife is sharper than he is used to and show him how to keep his fingers out of the way, but try to let him test it out on his own without constant warnings. He needs to know that you think he is competent.

      > Date: Fri, 7 Jun 2013 13:04:00 +0000 > To: cherylbier@hotmail.com >

  2. Hi! So great to see that confidence in using a sharp knife can be taught. I have always been afraid of using knives (still am) and now that I have a daughter, I am determined to teach her to be more confident about herself and her ability to keep herself safe around sharp objects. Thanks for the insight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

