July Giveaway Winner + Cashmere Pajamas/Long Underwear are BACK! + New Giveaway Contest

First off, I would like to announce that Aimie A won last month’s free toy. She will receive one helicopter with wheels.

100_7187

In other news, I finally returned to my sewing machine this week. I stitched up a few pairs of 100% Cashmere Pajamas.

Size 18-24 months:

100_7196

Size 12 months:

100_7216

Size 2T:

100_7223

And I realized why I have a hard time working on sewing projects. You see, my woodworking stuff is in the basement. So the tricky part of my woodworking is done in peace (my son is upstairs).

My sewing machine is on the ground floor, so I’m constantly interrupted and begged to play. I expect that if I did a lot of sewing, we’d work something out, but since I don’t, here we are. Let’s just say, I appreciate the dust and the noise that keep Caleb from wanting to go in the basement more now. Of course, when I’m in the basement more than a half an hour, I start feeling guilty for being, relatively, unavailable. So it’s a toss-up.

I’ll be making a lot more of these in the months to come to keep your little ones cozy in the winter. Let me know if you have a specific size request.

I’m planning on designing a short pants, short sleeved version for bigger kids, since sweaters are not big enough for them to have long pants, though long sleeves are still a possibility.

I also have been entertaining thoughts of a cashmere stuffed animal. I hate wasting things. I use every bit of wood I possibly can, and then I burn the scraps for our Sunday cookouts. I use my oil and beeswax soaked paper towels that I use for finishing as fire starters.

When I make the shirt and pants, there are always lots of decent sized scraps leftover. But what to do with the scraps? Any ideas? Whoever gives me the best idea (or the best pattern!), will win the August giveaway contest for one toy of their choice under $25. Think simple, I’m not a great seamstress, and I want to sell these at a reasonable price. 

5 thoughts on “July Giveaway Winner + Cashmere Pajamas/Long Underwear are BACK! + New Giveaway Contest

  1. You could always make them into scrappy pairs :). See all the scraps together and then cut out your pattern.

    Or make a fun toddler blanket or lovey

    Blankets for the doll house

  2. You should probably get a serger. I’ve killed a couple on sweaters, but seem to be doing well with a brother 1034D. You can make hats, mittens, coats, scarves, armwarmers, pants etc… The exposed seams and wonky mismatch is in right now.

  3. So not my own ideas per se, but I have been loving this site Purlbee.com. They have some great free crafting ideas inluding felted projects that may work for the scraps like Felt Aquarium Magnets http://purlbee.squarespace.com/the-purl-bee/2009/4/15/mollys-sketchbook-felt-aquarium-magnets.html and you could make a stick with a magnet attatched to use as a kids game, or the Felt Snowball Ornaments http://www.purlbee.com/the-purl-bee/2011/11/17/mollys-sketchbook-felt-snow-ball-ornaments.html, or a garland there are 2 different ones in either square or round pattern (this is the round one) http://www.purlbee.com/the-purl-bee/2009/12/26/mollys-sketchbook-new-years-garland.html, or even the Tooth Fairy bag http://www.purlbee.com/the-purl-bee/2009/7/26/mollys-sketchbook-tooth-fairy-bags.html. Just a starting point………..

Leave a Reply

