Cranberry-Oatmeal Muffins

This time of year always makes me feel behind. I feel like I didn’t do enough during the warm months of the year.

I should have canned more tomatoes.

I should have made more applesauce and definitely more cider- you can never have enough of that.

I don’t have enough fruit in the freezer!

I need more onions!

There aren’t enough toys in stock!

I should have made and sanded more keys while the weather was nice at the creek.

We should have spent more time at the lake.

I should have eaten more watermelon, and what about all that watermelon juice I was going to put in the freezer for a taste of summer in December???

But eventually I have to make peace with my frantic voices and bid farewell to the growing, sunny season.

Tomorrow we’ll likely have the first frost, and the next day it looks like another frost, and is that SNOW in the forecast??

The fruit flies in my kitchen are going mad with their impending doom-breeding like crazy (it seems like). Their numbers are increasing as the amount of fruit available is dwindling.

I’ll still be able to harvest greens for another month or more, but this week will be the end of my peppers and tomatoes and basil. Hopefully it will also be the end of the cabbage worms that have been feasting on my kale.

But…

Cranberry season is here!

I was overjoyed to see cranberries in the store this week. My frozen stores are long since depleted, and cranberry muffins are one of the great joys of fall and winter. And this year I swear (again) to put more of them away against all those bleak, cranberry-less months of the year.

Without further ado, here is one of my favorite ways to eat cranberries…

CAM00260

Cranberry-Oatmeal Muffins

2 cups of rolled or quick oats (I prefer rolled, better texture)

2 cups of milk (whatever kind you use)

2 tsp of vanilla extract

–Let the oats soak in the milk while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.

3 1/4 cups of whole wheat flour (or white flour if you like fluffy, insubstantial muffins)

2 tsp of baking powder

2 tsp of baking soda

1 tsp of salt

1/2 tsp of cinnamon

whisk dry ingredients together

add in the wet ones including the milk and oat mixture…

1 cup of applesauce

1/2 cup of oil

1/2 cup of maple syrup

Mix it all up using as few strokes as possible and fold in a full bag of cranberries.

Bake at 350 for about 15-20 minutes until they are golden brown on the bottoms.

Then try not to eat all 24 muffins at one sitting. You’re going to want to put some in the freezer for those cold mornings before you go down to the basement and make some toys.

One thought on “Cranberry-Oatmeal Muffins

Leave a Reply

