Parental Guilt

Hello there, I’ve been in craft show land all weekend, and I just wanted to share a link with you. There is a great article on The Natural Child Project about Parent Guilt, and he really hits the nail on the head and puts the idea in a cultural and historical context, without pooh-poohing the idea that we need to be sensitive to our children’s needs.

This article is a must read, and the best I have read on the topic. You have to tell me what you think of it in the comments here.

In other news, I’m working hard on toys for you folks for Christmas, and selling at the holiday shows. We had a great show this weekend at the Waterfront in Pittsburgh with I Made It Market. Then I sold at a catholic church nearby tonight which was surprisingly good. My new assistant, Siena, was also there selling soap that she made.

There was a blacksmith with hand forged knives and and this awesome hatchet. There were 2 potters, and several people with knitted items. And there was an artist there with pencil drawings, and I bought one! I’m going to make a frame for it, and hang it some place cool. I’ll do a post on my frame making (lol, probably in January!). It was a cool show, and nice to meet other craftsmen (I prefer that word to crafters, it just sounds more high class) that are close to home.

Okay, it’s way past my bedtime, and rule number one of the holiday season is NO STAYING UP LATE. Sleep is the most important thing to keep your health up when you are busy and should be protected at any cost.

Good Night!

3 thoughts on “Parental Guilt

  1. interesting article. I’d like it if I had more of a support group as well; I think we were mean to have that. It is hard being home all day with your children. And this was lovely: “Parenting does not improve simply because we avail ourselves of better quality information and advice. What most transforms our relationship with our children is the inner work: our willingness to learn, heal and grow.” My kids often hear me say, “I’m sorry; I was wrong, please forgive me.”

  2. What a wonderful article and insight to the ever-so-common-experienced parental guilt. I have experienced tremendous guilt over circumcising my son (which ended in a hospital visit for him) and have lost countless hours of sleep at night. Time spent ruminating over the event and it’s subsequent consequences have lessened over time, mostly because I have replaced that guilt with other worries and guilts regarding my son and parenting. Parenting has so many unexpected challenges and most of us just want to do the best we can for our kids. I liked the distinction between guilt and remorse. Guilt really is a dead end street and truly not helpful, but rather, detrimental to children. I know that my guilt over the circumcision won’t positively change my son’s genitals, although remorse will prevent me from doing it to any boy I may have in the future. I plan to write my son an apology letter and/or sit him down to apologize and have a conversation with him about my mistake as a parent when he is older. I also really liked how the author emphasized on listening to your kids. It’s so easy to ignore, manipulate, and take advantage of children, especially when they are so small and silent. What a good reminder for all these things. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

