Happy Birthday to Me, Presents for You

Today is my 30th birthday, and I must say, I’m pretty excited about it.

I celebrated by working all day. My mother came to visit me, so she took my son out for most of the day, and left me to work. Everyone had fun, and I worked on some new trucks.

I guess that’s a sign that I’m in love with my job. When given the choice of doing anything I want (in town) for my birthday, I chose making toys.

My vocation is one reason why THIRTY doesn’t scare me. I’m very happy where I am, doing what I’m doing. And it seems like a marvelous thing to have lived 30 years.

If you think about aging as one day closer to death, you will be miserable that you are a decade older. But I was just thinking how lucky we humans are to live so long. Thirty isn’t even scratching the surface. Most mammals get less than 20 years.

Yes, there is a tinge of regret that I may never have another child, but I feel that I lucked out getting one to begin with, so any more would be icing on the cake anyway.

Last month, as I was trying to get back in shape (still trying), my knees were bothering me, and I felt OLD all of the sudden. But with some more work, I’m feeling good again, and I have determined to never sacrifice my physical fitness for my job again. I’d much rather be a little bit poorer with a strong healthy body, than a little richer with weak joints and muscles and a weak heart.

In my twenties, I learned a lot about what was really important, and I’m definitely a happier, more whole person going out of them than I was coming into them.

Anyway, the finished models aren’t quite done yet, but the test model was made a few weeks ago. Caleb has enough trucks, so I’m giving this one away to you!

Big Lumber Truck

100_0851

100_0846

100_0852

 

This truck is for serious hauling. It can carry enough blocks or lincoln logs for a small house! And of course, I had to make it with holes for people to drive the truck, because trucks are just more fun with people.

The Big Lumber Truck is 4.5 inches wide and 12 inches long. It fits people that are 7/8th’s of an inch in diameter.

I’ll post more pictures later of the version that I will be selling, but for now, post a comment below about why you like wooden toys, and you’ll be entered to win this truck.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me, Presents for You

  1. First off happy birthday! 30s are great. We’ve had a lot of young friends and family members pass recently and it’s so true that we have a special thing living longer than most mammals.

    The main reason we love wooden toys here is because of my sister. She was a major activist for the earth. And always had alternatives to plastic. She was unfortunately not able to provide wooden toys for her children as she was killed in a car accident at 21 years old. I wanted to have my sister’s love of the environment live on and we get wooden toys.

    That truck is adorable and my kids would be in awe of it. My daughter loves her MMT vehicles. And my new son is starting to enjoy the wonders of wooden toys

  2. Happy, Happy Birthday, Cheryl! I love wooden toys because they are durable, they don’t make noise (and thus don’t require batteries), they activate a child’s imagination, and they aren’t made in China. Well, yours aren’t anyway. πŸ™‚

  3. Happy Birthday Cheryl…..I have to say for 30 you are a wise old soul! I swear this didn’t have the intention of making you feel old πŸ˜‰ I’m a few years older and I find you are always so insightful with all of your parenting. One child or more, Caleb is in amazing hands to help him explore and discover the world ahead of him.

  4. Happy birthday mama!!! I love playing with wooden toys. I like the texture and color and how solid they are. I like that they don’t make noise and encourage imagination!

  5. Happy Birthday! I love wooden toys because they are for everybody. There is no girl color or boy color and they can be enjoyed by all ages. My little teether loves them just as much as my toddler. I have recieved endless comments about my daughter loving cars and how she should be playing with dolls or other “girl toys”. Since when does gender matter when playing with toys? Since when are cars “boy toys”? Anyhow, that’s another topic, but I love that your wooden toys are for EVERYBODY. Heck, even I like to play with them πŸ™‚

  6. Happy Birthday! I came across your store on etsy today and my 3 year old son and I have spent well over an hour browsing the listings. Once I saw the blog, I had to stop by. Your items are beautiful! I’ve bookmarked several for future purchases (after the bills get paid tomorrow!) I’m a big fan of wooden toys, especially made in the US, because a) they last longer, invoke the imagination, and are natural and b) I’m a huge supporter of independent sellers/crafters.

  7. I love wooden toys because they are timeless! They stand the test of time, are beautiful and are fun! I think with play and wear they only look better and feel smoother! Have a very happy 30th birthday!

  8. Happy Birthday! I am heading towards 40 myself πŸ˜€
    What is not love about wooden toys?? Made by hand, a natural, earth friendly material that will out last plastic counterparts & encourages imaginative play!

  9. Happy Birthday! What could be better than a wooden toy made in the USA by loving hands. My grandsons love to play with wooden toys and my daughter doesn’t like to buy toys that may be toxic. Imagination is a powerful thing to nuture in children. Electronic games inhibit this in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

