Spring Equinox

This post is a few days late, I suppose. On Thursday, I wanted to do a little something special for the Vernal Equinox. Nothing fancy, just an acknowledgement that the days of light were on their way. I saw this cute little craft on the Magic Onions blog, and I knew it was perfect.

Eggshell Candles

Literally we made candles with real egg shells as the vessels. I used eggs to make my desserts, and I remembered not to destroy three of them. My friend gave us these eggs, so they were even special eggs.

Caleb helped me cut the wicks and stand them up, and then I pored the wax into the shells (and made a bit of a mess as I was poring right out of a pot).

While the beeswax was cooling and hardening into candles, we took a hike up our little mountain. I was on the lookout for signs of life, but the only thing I found was some scrubby bush with teeny tiny buds, so I picked that for our table.

100_0855

100_0856

 

 

I used play dough to stabilize the eggs. They are really lovely when they’re lit. I’ll definitely make more of them this spring when these run out of wax.

What are your favorite spring crafts?

 

2 thoughts on “Spring Equinox

  1. Beautiful eggs and such a simple, earthy idea. I’ve been into cleaning my closet out and making stuff with the clothes I don’t use. Last night, I found a denim dress with a tear in the bodice. I made a pillowcase out of the majority of the skirt, and two small drawstring bags with the pockets and leftover bits. I sewed the sashes together to make a shoulder strap for one of the bags so it can be used as a purse. Spring cleaning yields craft supplies! Thanks for the great craft idea! Betsy

  2. Beautiful eggs…….did you used beeswax pellets? I’d love to make these with the kids. We were going to use our shells for planting but the candles are a great idea as well. We are working on felted eggs. I bought a 3″ basswood egg to use as the form and then I am making some little felted chicks to stuff inside once we cut them open. I also got a few extra just to paint. Hmmmm thinking about that we should have had you make us some eggs!

Leave a Reply

