Pizza Day Links

On Wednesday night, we order pizza for dinner, because a medium pizza is only four dollars, and because it’s nice to have a night off-almost no dishes, no cooking, just drive a mile up the hill and pick up the pizza. Since I make practically everything else from scratch, I look forward to one day a week where the menu is set and guaranteed to please my son.

My blog post today is going to be like that–let someone else do the work.

So my favorite links of the past couple of weeks are….

Tynan had an eye opening post a couple of days ago about the difference between happiness and pleasure. For instance, it may give you pleasure to watch TV for until one in the morning, but it sure isn’t going to make you happy. Read it, you’ll be glad you did. I keep saying to myself, “I’m I going to be happy about this decision at the end of the day (or tomorrow morning!).”

Mike Lanza has a book and a website called Playborhood. I found it when I was searching for information about parent-run day camps, but I found so much more than that. He has a wealth of ideas about creating a thriving neighborhood play scene. I really liked that he acknowledges that getting your kids away from a screen and outdoors is more complicated than saying, “Go outside and play.” He calls it a social problem. After all, if there aren’t any other kids outside, your kid is going to be inside pretty soon. Check out the blog and the book, they are well-worth your time.

Leo at Zen Habits had a post a while back titled “What if You Didn’t Have to Worry about Yourself?” that really struck me.

Peter Gray at Freedom to Learn on Psychology Today wrote an article close to my heart about Risky Play: Why Children Love It and Need It.

I also read a great book from my library called, Play: How it Shapes the Brain, Opens the Imagination, and Invigorates the Soul. It’s about play from a biological standpoint, and Dr. Stuart Brown makes a strong case that play is a necessity, and that children and adults need more of it in their lives. I really liked that he didn’t focus just on children, but showed the ways that play still benefits grown humans as well.

Okay, that’s all for today. What have you been reading lately? What are your favorite blogs? 

 

Leave a Reply

