Buy Nothing Week

Starting today, I’m having a buy nothing week. Mostly I’m doing this to use up my freezer food. Pretty soon, I’ll be adding fresh garden produce to my freezer, and I need to make sure I use up what I have leftover from last year. My freezer has tons of food in it that I don’t always think of when I’m meal planning.

It could use a defrost and a little organizing too, I know.

It could use a defrost and a little organizing too, I know.

It’s also a good time to do it, because I’ll still have fresh greens from my garden. So I’ll be skipping my weekly grocery shopping and relying on the freezer and the pantry. I won’t shop online or at Goodwill. I have enough gas to last the week, probably (a tank usually lasts me about 3-4 weeks if I don’t go to Pittsburgh), but if I don’t, I’ll have to stay home or walk downtown if I want to go out.

I also won’t be buying any new supplies for my business. I’m pretty well stocked, so I don’t think that will be an issue at all. The only thing I will be buying is postal labels, but technically the customer is buying them with their shipping fees.

We’ll see if I can make it. I’m rather addicted to going grocery shopping and wood shopping. If I make it one week and still have an overloaded freezer, I’m going to extend it for another week at least for food, though I might buy some more fruit then. I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

2 thoughts on “Buy Nothing Week

  1. Bravo! I just finished reading The Man Who Quit Money, about Daniel Suelo, who quit using money in 2000. He says that as he turned away from money, he found himself more connected to people — friends, strangers who gave him rides hitchhiking, and the people he helps when he volunteers at a women’s shelter. Inspiring to think about your week without buying.

Leave a Reply

