Local Food Summer

Last year, I did a local food month in August, and it went really well. I’m extending for the whole summer this year: June through September. Our farmer’s markets start in June, and my garden will be coming in strong by then. If it’s going well, I may extend it to October.

100_7229

My Rules:

1. All produce must come from my garden or a farmer in our area.

2. Grains and beans can come from the grocery store unless I can find a local source (as yet unfound).

3. Dairy and eggs must be local, though I use animal products extremely sparingly.

4. Nuts can be bought at the store, if local ones are not available.

5. Bananas are like coffee for me–non-negotiable.

6. Added sugar will be provided by local maple syrup, maple sugar, and honey.

7. Baking soda, powder, salt, yeast, etc. are allowed.

8. Special dispensation will be made for my son particularly if it gets him to eat more vegetables that may not be available locally.

9. Only one factory prepared food per week (crackers, chips, salsas, pastas, etc.).

That’s all I can think of at the moment. Basically I want to be purchasing all my produce locally (except bananas), and I want to severely limit processed food.

I doubt I’ll be able to keep it up during my vacation weeks when I’m away from home, but I’ll do my best.

The local food summer isn’t about doing it perfectly, nor is it about being “holier than thou,” for me it’s about expanding my palette and eating tastier food. And of course supporting small farmers. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Local Food Summer

Leave a Reply

